The Council comprises of representatives from major institutions involved in health research and which were involved in the Health Research Capacity Strengthening Initiative, Kenya. The Council’s role is oversight, advocacy and communicating CNHR’s objectives and mandate. The Council also appoints the Board of Management and auditors and serves as trustee of the Consortium’s property.


The institutions (groups) currently represented on the Council are:



Prof. Walter Mwanda Chair (University of Nairobi)
Prof. Stephen Ogendo Maseno University
Prof. Simeon Mining Moi University
Prof. Clifford MuteroICIPE
Dr. Charles NziokaMinistry of Health
Dr. Stephen MungaKEMRI
Dr. Margaret KasejeGLUK
Dr. George Kimathi AMREF Health Africa
Ms. Joyce WanderiKenya Healthcare Federation
Dr. John KinuthiaKNH
Dr. Simon KayWellcome Trust
Dr. Sue GodtIDRC