The External Scientific Advisory Committee (ESAC) which is an independent expert committee is composed of 12 experienced scientific reviewers.   A third of the members are from Kenya, a third from the African region while the rest come from the international scientific community.  The selected members of ESAC are people of high integrity, who have wide experience in the review of scientific proposals and grants and possess excellent analytical and writing skills. The key responsibility for this committee is to review concept papers and full proposals submitted to the Consortium for consideration and funding.


Members of this Committee are selected by the Board of Management.

Prof. Malcom Molyneux, Emeritus Professor of Medicine, University of Liverpool, UK.
Prof. Robert Novak, Professor of Global Health, University of South Florida, Tampa Florida.
Prof. William Macharia, The Hassanali Dharani Professor & Chair, Aga Khan University, Kenya.
Prof. James K. Tumwine, Professor of Pediatrics and Child Health, Makerere University College of Health Sciences, Uganda.
Prof. Thomas Egwang, Professor of Parasitology and Immunology, Gulu University, Uganda.
Prof. Erick Mitema, Professor, Veterinary pharmacology and Toxicology University of Nairobi, Kenya.
Prof. Hassanali Ahmed, Professor of Chemistry, Kenyatta University, Kenya.
Prof. Alexis Nzila, Associate Professor, at the King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (KFUPM), Dhahran Saudi Arabia.
Prof. David Bradley, Ross Professor of Tropical Hygiene Emeritus, University of London, at the Faculty of Infectious & Tropical Diseases, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.
Dr. Halima Mwenesi, FHI 360, Director, Infectious Diseases Division (IDD), FHI 360 – Washington, DC.
Dr. Christine Wasunna, Liberia-US Partnership for Research on Ebola Vaccines, Monrovia, Liberia.
Dr. JPR Ochieng’ Odero, Team Leader, East Africa Research Fund – DFID, Nairobi, Kenya.
Ms. Winnie Kanana Munene, Secretary to the Expert Scientific Advisory Committe and Programme Officer - Grants Management, CNHR.